7th Grade Reflection

In the beginning of the school year, I had expected 7th grade to be pretty much the same as 6th grade. And I was right, for the most part. The classes weren’t that hard (well, school has been relatively easy for me), I sat with the same people at lunch, I took most of the same classes…the only difference was the homework load.

Not that the homework was hard, which it certainly wasn’t. The work was just longer, more repetitive, and just overall mind-numbing. By October, I couldn’t even remember what it was like to actually have time to do other things. After school, my life was just a endless cycle of homework, piano, and cello. Eventually, I figured out how to work efficiently, completing my homework as quickly as possible, yet still having accurate answers. Slowly, I began to have more free time to watch Netflix, play basketball, walk my dog…etc.

As the year comes to a close, I realize that despite many things, this has been a good year. I have some advice to offer to next year’s seventh graders, or just students in general: when you are studying, have a schedule. For example, do algebra homework for thirty minutes and then take a short break. Only concentrate on one subject, and then when you are done, switch subjects. This helped me a lot. Good luck everyone~

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *