Government Shutdown

            I feel that it is VERY irresponsible and immature of the politicians for the government to shut down. They should just agree on something, instead of affecting so many people. Politicians act like they’re doing what’s best for the citizens of America, but are they helping, when all federal workers are on furlough? The members of congress are still getting paid (a lot), while the federal workers are payless. The one good thing they’re doing is continuing to pay troops.

            While the government shutdown does not affect me directly, I feel that a shutdown is not the way to solve a problem.

 

Thanks for reading!!

~Rachel

 

I hope I didn’t offend anyone with this….

 

~Learn more about the government shutdown here

~Oh and here’s a cool site that shows how much congress has earned since the shutdown.

2 thoughts on “Government Shutdown

  1. I, as a fan of the Democratic Party, believe that it’s not a single politician that’s bring the government down. When the president is Democratic, and the majority of the the Congress is Republican, not a lot can be done. Oh well, hopefully they’ll start working again soon.

  2. THIS COMMENT MIGHT OFFEND OEOPLE WHO SUPPORT THE SHUTDOWN. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.
    I completely agree with your post. The people who started the shutdown are contradicting themselves every time they speak. A good analogy I heard was as follows:
    Fred walks into a coffee shop. He asks for a cup of coffee.
    “That’ll be $2:00.” The cashier says.
    “Give it to me for $1:50.” Fred says. ”
    “I can’t.”
    “Give it to me for $1:50 and give me a free scone.”
    The cashier is getting angry. ” I’m sorry, I can’t do that.”
    “Do it or I’ll break your window.”
    “What does the window have to do with this?”
    “I’m going to go around breaking your windows until you do that.” Fred says.

    That’s about the same thing the politicians are doing. “Give me a budget and repeal this law or ill shut down the government. You get nothing in return.”
    What? You can’t do that! Besides, the law in question has been approved by the supreme court as constitutional.
    It makes no sense.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *